Citroen SA Surfing ChampsRead the Latest News


Another day of surfing action at the Citroen SA Surfing Champs

Proceedings were put on hold until 9:15 to allow for the tide to drop before Round 2 Reparcharge rounds began for the Open Men, Open Women and U/20s. The surf was small but once again contestable, improving over the morning, and the standard of riding from the guys and girls fighting their way back into the competition was exciting to watch.

In the Third Round heat winners in the premiere Open Men’s Division were Dylan Stewart & Chris Frolich (both eThekweni), former SA Champion Gavin Roberts (Ugu), Simon Fish (Buffalo City) and Craig Johnson (Cape Town). They advanced to Round Four as did defending champion Greg Emslie (Buffalo City), Scott Venter (Presidents Team), David Van Zyl and Chris Frolich (both eThekweni), Luke Malherbe (Buffalo City) and Clint Fraser (Nelson Mandela Bay). A significant upset was the elimination of two time SA Champion Casey Grant (Ugu).

In the Open Women’s Division, Danielle Johnson (Presidents Team), Heather Klug (Ugu), Kat Steffen (eThekweni) and Nina Woermann (Cape Town) joined Round One qualifiers Emma Smith, Faye Zoetmulder (both Nelson Mandela Bay), Tamarys de Maroussem and Monique Gresse (both uThungulu), Lynne Mackey (eThekweni), Tasha Mentasti (Presidents Team), multiple SA Champion Heather Clark (Ugu), and defending champion Nikita Robb (Buffalo City) in Round Three.

Joshe Faulkner (Nelson Mandela Bay), JJ Harris and Richard Kidd (both eThekweni) and Michael Monk (Buffalo City) all won their Round Three U20 Division heats to advance to the next Round. Also advancing are second placed surfers Bevan Willis and Devin Whitehead (both eThekweni), Brandon Benjamin (Cape Town), Tristan Lev (Nelson Mandela Bay),  Ntando Msibi (Presidents Team) and Luke Malherbe (Buffalo City).

Luke Malherbe is on a roll making Round 4 in both the U/20 and Open Mens Division. Malherbe, a new cap in the SA Junior squad, charged back into the Open Men competition with a 7.33 ride in the first heat of the day. He will be competing in California in October and is looking to make a big name for himself at these Champs.

Conditions will remain small tomorrow (Day Three) with a strong offshore blowing overnight, they are expected to improve on Thursday and Friday. The contest will end with all eleven finals on Sunday. Todays Freedom Surf Academy top ride of the day went to Dylan Stewart of Ethekwini who received a token of appreciation from local Fred le Roux for the days top score.

The 50th South African Surfing Championships are supported by Sport and Recreation SA, the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund, Reef Wetsuits. Zigzag, the Zululand Observer, the uMhlatuze Community Tourism Organisation, the City of uMhlatuze and Monster Energy.

Heats, contest schedule and photos for the 2016 Citroën SA National Championships are updated each day on Follow us on social media at #sasurfingchamps #citroensa #c4cactus #citroenrb for results and images as they happen at and The event websites for more info and articles are, or